Hands in jail bars

Disorderly Conduct

Hands holding jail barsIn the state of California, there are many criminal laws. Some of these are quite complex. Disorderly conduct, which is frequently also referred to as disturbing the peace, is a crime in which the laws regarding it carry a variety of criminal statutes. With that being said, a person who is charged with disorderly conduct can face very severe penalties. Anyone who is charged with this particular crime should know exactly what it means and what the laws are pertaining to it so that they have a better idea of what to expect.

Disorderly conduct in the state of California encompasses a number of behaviors. A few examples include panhandling, squatting, loitering, prostitution and even appearing too intoxicated in public. In California, the laws are not always about punishment when it comes to disorderly conduct. For example, if a person is picked up for disorderly conduct because he or she appears to be extremely drunk, the individual may be held in civil protective custody. The individual can face as much as 72 hours of treatment for alcohol abuse and evaluation afterward. In the state of California, there are some situations where the individual is essentially protected against prosecution due to the reasons behind their confinement.

If a person is arrested for disorderly conduct, the exact reason why they were picked up depends greatly on just what they were doing at the time. For a crime such as prostitution, the individual can find themselves serving a jail sentence of at least 45 days, but if there is a prior conviction involved, the person can spend up to 90 days in jail. If someone is convicted of being a peeping Tom, he will receive the penalty of up to one year in prison.

In addition to these penalties, there are even more serious repercussions a person convicted of disorderly conduct can expect to face. After the individual is released from jail or prison, the court may suspend their rights to drive, especially if they were found to be heavily intoxicated and have an alcohol or substance abuse problem. In some instances, the individual may be allowed to drive a vehicle to travel to and from work. With a prior conviction, the person may also be subject to fines of up to $2,000.

When a person is arrested for the crime of disorderly conduct in the state of California, there will be a bail placed against them. Generally speaking, the specific amount of the bail will depend on the crime with which the individual was charged. The exact amount can vary, however, depending whether there was a prior conviction in place. For example, if someone is arrested for disorderly conduct on charges of prostitution, bail in Orange County is $1,000. However, that bail can be as much as $2,500 if the individual has perpetrated their second offense. The cost of bail also depends on in which county the crime occurred.

For anyone who is arrested for disorderly conduct, it is imperative to enlist the assistance of a reputable bail bonds company. This is the best means for being released from jail after being arrested if the money for release isn’t immediately available.

Tags: , ,
Posted in CA Laws No Comments »

Bail Bond Rates

In general, the standard industry rate for bail bonds is 10% of the face amount of bail. For example, if the face amount of bail is $10,000, the fee is $1,000. Read More


We offer affordable interest-free credit terms that are tailored to your financial situation. You can even put as little as 0-5% down (OAC). Read More