Gavel and money

Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License

Gavel on a stack of moneyMany people may view driving with a suspended or revoked license as a harmless or victimless crime. Truth is crime can warrant many adjectives: harmless, vicious, victimless, foolish, selfish, senseless and so on. Either way you slice it, breaking the law is still at the root of it. Because criminal acts and their penalties do vary with level of offense, they do all come with catered consequences. The assessment of fines and penalties for driving with a suspended or revoked license often varies even from state to state.

Fines and Penalties The sum of the fines or penalties for driving with a suspended or revoked license is a direct result of the level or frequency of the offense. The law mandates that a first offense could earn up to a 90-day prison sentence, fines ranging from $150-$200 or even license suspension up to one year. A second offense receives up to a full year in prison, fines of $200-$600 or a two-year license suspension. Rightfully, the penalties increase with frequency or severity of the act. It is an often occurrence for offenders to slide down the slick slope of repeat infractions.

More serious incidents such as driving while intoxicated, assault with a motor vehicle or manslaughter increase the fines and penalties exponentially. Even first offenders under these conditions receive a mandatory 30-day prison stay, nearly doubling fines of $500-$1000 and at least a one-year suspension of license. State Law Policies There are federal laws that outline a broad overview of associated statutes and penalties for vehicular violations. However, states have flexibility to attach fees and penalties in efforts to curtail crime. Some of these consequences come with more than a simple slap on the wrist.

When jail time is deemed necessary, the price paid for release could vary depending on where the arrest happened, as states may have inconsistent bail bond laws and applicable fees. The common bond agent fee amounts to 10% for state and 15% for federal offenses. However, Florida requires at least $100 to post bond, whereas states like North Carolina simply charges a 15% flat fee for bonds. Bail Bond Process If the offense leads to the potential for jail time, a qualified bail bond agent could be your best friend.

A trip to jail is not a planned one, so you may not have money required for bail. This is where the bail bond agent posts the bail required for release as well as negotiates the contingent court appearance. The turnaround time between booking and bail varies from state to state and facility to facility. If there are large numbers of detainees, the process tends to take longer since it is typically first in, first out in booking procedures. Despite the circumstances leading up to a suspended or revoked license, everyone is entitled due process of the law. There is a real possibility of facing jail time for traffic offense, especially if there is a pattern of repeat offenses. When this happens, a professional bail bond agent should be one of the first phone calls to make.

Tags: , ,
Posted in CA Laws No Comments »

Bail Bond Rates

In general, the standard industry rate for bail bonds is 10% of the face amount of bail. For example, if the face amount of bail is $10,000, the fee is $1,000. Read More

Financing

We offer affordable interest-free credit terms that are tailored to your financial situation. You can even put as little as 0-5% down (OAC). Read More